learning..

Throughout my journey to becoming a teacher, my views on the work of a teacher have changed. This quote was given to me in one of my first education classes.

The important thing is not so much
that every child should be taught,
as that every child should be given the wish to learn.
John Lubbock

When you look at the term literacy, it has changed very much in the last few decades.  Literacy used to mean the ability to read and write. With the spread and development of technology, literacy now means to be able to decipher through thousands of messages and understand the meanings and interpretations of the ones that you chose. In my opinion literacy has become much harder to achieve based on these definitions.  It is my hope that my students will be able to sift through the millions of media messages that are directed at them without being overwhelmed.

It is important that as a educator that I teach my kids how to be learners, instead of listeners, memorizers and test writers. I think it is about inspiring and instilling in them the passion to learn about the things that make them happy.

One response to “learning..

  1. I totally agree with your thoughts towards the new definition of literacy, Randi! It sounds difficult and everything but I think with how tech-savvy children are these days, it shouldn’t be too tough! Hopefully we both can get our students in the future to have good literacy.

Leave a Reply

