31 day challenge!

Over half the people in the world live on less then two dollars a day each.

I spend two dollars within the first two minutes of being at school… on coffee, nothing essential… coffee.

Starting March 1st I am going to do a zero unnecessary consumption challenge. I am allotting 20 dollars a week for fresh food and that is it. I won’t be buying any processed food because that adds tremendously to the consumer foot print.  I won’t be putting gas in my car, my cell phones data will be turned off and sadly, no more coffee.

Between clothes, going out for meals and everyday “essentials” I am spending too much. As I have looked at my credit card statement over the past few months, the depth of my consumerism is becoming more and more clear to me. I am blessed to be able to manage a successful ice cream shop, but just because I make good money does not mean I have to spend it like I do. I want to be more aware of the mindless purchases and the overkill of spending.

To be honest my variable spending will go from about $600/ month to $80/ month. That’s an %86 decrease. I will need as much encouragement as possible!

The reason why I am telling you this, I have to be accountable now! I will post about my struggles, temptations and thoughts as I enter into this journey.  If this challenges you… join me! We can do this together.

Cheers to home-made meals and quiet nights at home!

5 responses to “31 day challenge!

  1. “Over half the people in the world live on less then two dollars a day each.” I find this hard to imagine especially in our Western society where there is so much consumerism! I’ve been doing something similar – limiting the amount I spend a week (and it’s been working quite well). However, I am still paying for my phone and my car. Best of luck!

  2. Awesome idea & post Randi!! I love what you’re doing and I can’t wait to see how you make out with it! When the stats are displayed right there for you, it is shocking to see the things that have become everyday occurences for us. good job!!

Leave a Reply

